New Government of North Macedonia to Be Appointed on June 22 | Beta Briefing

New Government of North Macedonia to Be Appointed on June 22

Source: Beta
News / Region | 19.06.24 | access_time 17:50


The speaker of the Sobranje (parliament) of North Macedonia, Afrim Gashi, scheduled the session for the appointment of the new government for June 22, starting at 11:00 a.m.

The designate prime minister, Hristijan Mickoski, who is also the leader of the VMRO-DPMNE party, submitted to the parliament the work plan and composition of the future government, which will have 24 members, on June 18.

The new government, consisting of the “Your Macedonia” coalition around the VMRO-DPMNE, the Albanian coalition “Vredi” and the “I Know – For Our Macedonia” party, will have 20 ministries instead of the previous 16, three ministers without portfolio and five deputy prime ministers.

In Mickoski’s proposed cabinet, 15 members are from his party’s coalition, six from the “Vredi” coalition and two from “I Know,” the party of the mayor of Kumanovo, Maksim Dimitrievski. The parliamentary rules of procedure prescribe that the session for appointing the government lasts for not more than two days. At the start of the session, the designate presents the program and composition of the government, which is followed by a debate on that single item on the agenda.

The government is appointed in entirety in a public vote after the end of the debate, and not later than midnight on June 23. The new government is appointed by the vote of the majority of the total number of MPs.

To get full access to all content of interest see our
Subscription offer
Register for free
And read up to 5 articles each month.

Already have an account? Please Log in.

Related Articles

Latest News