EU Council Opens Borders for Serbia, Montenegro and 12 More Countries | Beta Briefing

EU Council Opens Borders for Serbia, Montenegro and 12 More Countries

Source: Beta
News / Politics | 30.06.20 | access_time 19:16

European union

On June 20 the EU Council adopted recommendations on gradually opening the EU's borders for citizens from 14 countries, including Serbia and Montenegro, as of July 1.

The recommendations were adopted based on an assessment of the epidemiological situation and which will be repeated every week. In the event of a sudden worsening of the situation in any of these countries the EU will reach a "speedy decision" on what to do, the EU Council has said in a statement.

The main criterion is that the number of newly infected per 100,000 in the past 14 days "is close to or below the EU average" on June 15 when the average number of cases in the EU per 100,000 people is 16.

A stable and downward trend in infections is also neccessary. The third criterion pertains to the overall response of each country to the epidemic as well as the reliability and availability of information in third countries, while the EU will also take into account information from EU delegations in these countries.

To get full access to all content of interest see our
Subscription offer
Register for free
And read up to 5 articles each month.

Already have an account? Please Log in.

Related Articles

Latest News

SEE Business

Millions of EU assistance to the Western Balkans for the fight against the pandemic and for the economy


Most Read