Serbian Parliament Appoints, Swears in New Government | Beta Briefing

Serbian Parliament Appoints, Swears in New Government

Source: Beta
News / Politics | 03.05.24 | access_time 10:58

Photo: Beta/Milos Miskov

Members of the Serbian parliament on May 2 voted in the new Serbian government, headed by Milos Vucevic, who is the president of the Serbian Progressive Party and the previous defense minister.

Speaker Ana Brnabic stated after the MPs' public vote that the program and composition of the new government had been accepted. Out of the 250 members of the Serbian parliament, 152 members from the ruling coalition voted in favor. The new government has 31 ministries and the swearing-in ceremony was attended by President Aleksandar Vucic, the diplomatic corps, religious dignitaries and other guests.

In the cabinet of Milos Vucevic, the first deputy prime minister and finance minister will be Sinisa Mali, while Ivica Dacic will be a deputy prime minister and interior minister. Irena Vujovic will be a deputy prime minister and minister for environmental protection, Aleksandar Vulin will be a deputy prime minister and Marko Djuric will be the foreign minister. Bratislav Gasic will take the defense portfolio, Andrijana Mesarovic that of the economy, while Aleksandar Martinovic will be the minister of agriculture, forestry and water management and Goran Vesic the minister of construction, transportation and infrastructure.

Dubravka Djedovic Handanovic will again be the minister of mining and energy, Tomislav Momirovic the minister of internal and foreign trade, Maja Popovic the justice minister and Jelena Zaric Kovacevic the minister of public administration and local self-government. Tomislav Zigmanov will be the minister of human and minority rights and social dialogue, Tanja Miscevic the minister of European integration, Slavica Djukic Dejanovic the minister of education and Zlatibor Loncar the minister of health.

The new minister of labor, employment, veteran and welfare policy is Nemanja Starovic, while Milica Djurdjevic Stamenkovski will be the new minister in charge of family and demographics. Zoran Gajic will be minister of sports and Nikola Selakovic minister of culture. Milan Krkobabic will be the minister in charge of rural development and Jelena Begovic the minister of science, technological development and innovation. Husein Memic will be the minister of tourism and youth, Dejan Ristic the minister of information and telecommunication and Darko Glisic the minister in charge of public investment. Novica Toncev, Djordje Milicevic, Usame Zukorlic, Nenad Popovic and Tatjana Macura will be ministers without portfolio.

To get full access to all content of interest see our
Subscription offer
Register for free
And read up to 5 articles each month.

Already have an account? Please Log in.

Related Articles

Latest News

SEE Business

Millions of EU assistance to the Western Balkans for the fight against the pandemic and for the economy


Most Read